The vB Geek

The vB Geek (http://www.thevbgeek.com/index.php)
-   Add-ons (http://www.thevbgeek.com/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   Release/Install Package (http://www.thevbgeek.com/showthread.php?t=1968)

The Geek 08-23-2006 08:42 PM

Release/Install Package
 
6 Attachment(s)
Make sure that once you import via GARS import system, you MUST edit the new Release Module Set and then edit the release module, making sure each custom field is assigned correctly. Its also important to know that with GARS RC4 series, upgrading will dump your release phrases and templates, so you'll have to re import this package afterword.

This package gives you new custom fields, templates, modules and module sets to transform a forum into a software release/install system almost identical to the one found at vbulletin.org (but with some subtle differences).


One of the key differences is GARS built in marked module and manager. This module takes full advantage of that system so that a user can click install/uninstall to mark/unmark this thread. Those that are 'marked' can be viewed by the thread author, admin and moderators.


To do so, just click the install count to be taken to the manager (marked.php) where the user can quickly select their releases and view who clicked install. This also gives them the ability to quickly send an update email to select users.


To install, download the zip. Upload the contents of the forum folder into your forums. Then go to your admincp->gars->import/export->import and browse to the release.xml file located with this zip.
Once imported, you MUST edit the new modules in the newly created module set. Do this by clicking the Release set link, then the release module and click save.

nJoy

The Geek 08-24-2006 08:15 PM

Thread updated with screen shots and more info.

Felix 08-24-2006 08:56 PM

Ok, just installed this and have the following things happening:

When I try to edit the existing posts that are using the release module, I get a error:

Code:

Database error in vBulletin 3.6.0:

Invalid SQL:
UPDATE post SET userid = 315 WHERE postid=;

MySQL Error  : You have an error in your SQL syntax; check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near '' at line 1 Error Number : 1064
Date        : Thursday, August 24th 2006 @ 03:50:50 PM
Script      : http://www.talkvbulletin.com/editpost.php
Referrer    : http://www.talkvbulletin.com/editpost.php?do=editpost&p=5520
IP Address  : 69.175.95.167
Username    : **********
Classname    : vb_database

Also, the area containing this text:

Code:

Supported
DB Changes
Installer Included
Uses Plugins
Template Changes
Code Changes
Additional Files
Is a Beta!
Supported
DB Changes
Installer Included
Uses Plugins
Template Changes
Code Changes
Additional Files
Is a Beta!

has lines through it. see here: http://www.talkvbulletin.com/vbullet...-tvb-blue.html

Thanks for any help you could offer.

The Geek 08-24-2006 09:41 PM

Felix, did you re-edit your release modules in your module set and resave them?

joeychgo 08-24-2006 10:52 PM

I got this.... when I "admincp->gars->import/export->import and browse to the release.xml "




PHP Code:

Updating style information for each style

Default Style ... (Templates
Warningimplode() [function.implode]: Bad argumentsin /includes/adminfunctions_template.php on line 691
(StyleVars) (CSS) (Replacement Variables
WarningInvalid argument supplied for foreach() in /includes/adminfunctions_template.php on line 796
(ControlsDone.
  
vBFAQ Style ... (Templates
Warningimplode() [function.implode]: Bad argumentsin /includes/adminfunctions_template.php on line 691
(StyleVars) (CSS) (Replacement Variables
WarningInvalid argument supplied for foreach() in /includes/adminfunctions_template.php on line 796
(ControlsDone


spadez 08-25-2006 01:36 AM

Awesome!

Thats all i can say, i have been playing with this and its a great, i love it.

I do have one request, with the image uploading custom field, can you please intergrate an image resizer, so if a user uploads an image thats too big it will resize it down to a set dimension? That would really be useful.

Regards,

James

Felix 08-25-2006 02:17 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by The Geek
Felix, did you re-edit your release modules in your module set and resave them?

I think I did, however I am not 100% sure what you mean. I went to:

Admincp -> GARS -> Modules -> Edited Release Module Set

Under Header, I edited Release, and saved.
Under Right of Content, I edited Marked, Tools, Table of Contents, and saved.

Now, after I did this, I edited the posts of the mods / hacks / skins to input the vb version, mod version, and the selections from:

Supported
DB Changes
Installer Included
Uses Plugins
Template Changes
Code Changes
Additional Files
Is a Beta!
Supported
DB Changes
Installer Included
Uses Plugins
Template Changes
Code Changes
Additional Files
Is a Beta!

I saved the post, and nothing has changed. If I provided you with a admin login, could you take a look at it please. I don't know where I'm going wrong. I'm typically quite intelligent about these things :)

Thanks!

Felix 08-25-2006 02:58 AM

EDIT (HERE IS A UPDATE)

Ok, I uninstalled it, and reinstalled it. Followed Directions to a tee. Edited existing posts, but no luck having the release info updated.

Now, I created a new release. Everything worked fine. So, apparently it won't allow old post to be edited / updated.

The Geek 08-25-2006 08:31 AM

OK, old posts are not getting updated but new ones seem fine?

The Geek 08-25-2006 08:32 AM

@Joey - that bug was fixed in RC4b.

Thanks :)

Glad you like it spadez :)


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:47 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Release powered by GARS 2.1.9 ©2005-2006